methods that are threaded...

I don’t even know if this is possible… here’s basically what I want:

Something similar to the thread.run event, but it’s a method. Instead of:

thread.run

I want to be able to pass arguments to a method, and have it return the processed declared variable… which did all of its processing within a thread. Something like:

myReturn = thread.run(myArgument) 'even byRef returns would be fine

Is something like this even possible? I’m trying to find solutions to my issues, one of them is incorporating more use of threads, and staying away from loops that use the app.doEvents while a process is being completed.

sure it’s possible. Have a method which takes a delegate, creates a new thread, puts delegate in thread property, call run method. In run event of thread, use delegate property to call method.

I have very little experience working with delegates, and using the invoke to call them. It’s something I will definitely look into, if this will solve my problem. Appreciate the quick response, Christian!

You really need to embrace asynchronous, event driven programming. Which is really what Christian is proposing anyway. Even with delegates, it won’t run synchronously. You could make a thread run synchronously by using a Semaphore, but then what’s the point of using a thread? You’re going to block the UI just as if you’d not used a thread in the first place.

[quote=98481:@Eric Brown]I don’t even know if this is possible… here’s basically what I want:

Something similar to the thread.run event, but it’s a method. Instead of:

thread.run

I want to be able to pass arguments to a method, and have it return the processed declared variable… which did all of its processing within a thread. Something like:

myReturn = thread.run(myArgument) 'even byRef returns would be fine