Loop through rowset twice

This is my first ever question. I am still learning Xojo.

Brief overview of my intention:
I am creating a little program that will have about 4 users on a shared network. I am using Microsoft Access as the backend. I am attempting to reduce the amount of SQL query read requests as much as possible as I am aware of the limitations of using Access. To this end I am reading an entire table (not very big. Perhaps 300 rows) into a Rowset property and figured I would hold this in memory at the window level public property.
Whenever the user changes the selection in a combobox it changes the displayed items in a listbox (for example if user select ‘vegetables’ the listbox would display different kinds of vegetables, and if the user changes selection to 'meat then 
 well you get the idea).

My issue:
I can loop through the rowset once but after that I cannot loop through a second time. The second time round it just gives me the last row value.
I have tried looping backwards and forwards using .MoveToNextRow or .MoveToPreviousRow.
I have also tried using a For Next loop but I cannot seem to read the row count as I am using ODBC (from what I can gather this is available to other database types).

*** START OF CODE ***
(excluding try/catch statements)
(the variable xRS_itemtypes is my window level Rowset public property)

xSQLString = “SELECT * FROM Tbl_ItemTypes”
xRS_itemtypes = db.SelectSQL(xSQLstring)

For Each row As DatabaseRow In xRS_itemtypes
messagebox row.ColumnAt(1).StringValue
Next

xRS_itemtypes.MoveToFirstRow
For Each row As DatabaseRow In xRS_itemtypes
messagebox row.ColumnAt(1).StringValue
Next

*** END OF CODE ***

Any help would be appreciated.

Tim

feedback case.
60527 - for each and RowSet cursor foreward only

If the data doesnt change, Read them once to a Data Structure (dictionaries, arrays, etc), close the connection and use the stored data instead of a connection to Access

1 Like

or SQLiteDatabase
In-Memory Database