Looking for ideas or want to help out

Hi,

thanks to MacHeist I am an owner of a Xojo Desktop license I purchased last year. But due to a lot of time constraints I found no time in getting a start with Xojo until now. So I started now getting to know all the benefits of the Xojo ecosystem. Especially the out-of-the-box crossplatform support and being very close to the good old Visual Basic are topcs that are really interesting for me.

But I do not want to write the 100th TimeTracker, Calculator, TextEditor app and I am not the smartest person in finding new ideas what tools to write for learning purposes. So i wanted to ask you guys, if you have ideas what can be of any interest for the Xojo community or if you have some functions that need to be written for your tools. I just wanted to get started :slight_smile:

In my daytime job I am an employed developer for C++ and Python, specialized right now for Data management (handling big data) and server management. Coding experience is available, I am no complete rookie :slight_smile:

I started writing some small Xojo modules which are at the moment reeeeaaaaly rudimentary (and will be further developed) that consume the Reddit API and Pinboard.in API. You can find both on github:

ReddiDesk: https://github.com/tbass/reddidesk
Pinner: https://github.com/tbass/pinner

I really appreciate feedback on both.

I started yesterday in the German part of the forum the same question and received besides a warm welcome some good ideas to starts with. Maybe here are some more. :slight_smile:

I really like to be part of the great Xojo community. Keep up the good work with this great platform!

Glad to read such a nice message and welcome to Xojo. There is an amazing community here, as good as Xojo itself. It’s a confortable place were people are very nice, with Xojo or others very interesting Off-topic (non-xojo) forum topics to read and follow.