Looking for a Mentor

Hello World, I have been learning XOJO for the last 7 months. it took me that long to build my first app for testing. Now I am looking for somebody willing to look at what i have done and tell me if I’m crazy, or if I have any future writing programs. I have no formal training so I find myself constantly wondering if I am following best practices. I know what I want to build just looking for some guidance from somebody with some experience. I would be happy to answer any questions.

My ultimate goal is to build a desktop app specifically for the raspberry pi.

The form has been a great place to find answers to all my questions so far. My thanks to all those who participate!!

It took me about the same timeframe to learn how to use Xojo and launch my first app. Being a few years later now, I’m absolutely disgusted by my code from back then. So much so that I’ve started an entire ground-up rewrite (that’s moving very slowly) of the app.

I guess my point is, you never stop learning when it comes to software development. You will continue to grow and get better, and when you look back at code you sometimes wonder why you approached things the way you did.

There is no way to know if you have a future in software from the way you write code when you start learning. I never would have guessed I’d be doing software development full time for an established company back then. I thought maybe through my best efforts I’d maybe pull off being an independent developer enough to get by.

The only true determination of whether you can have a future in software is your passion for it. That’s the only common thing I’ve seen with my time in development communities. Those without passion look for cheap outs and shortcuts, and never learn (or have any desire) to make quality software.