Live Scoreboard

I’m writing a live scoreboard in Xojo, I’ve had a play and come up with something that works by using a webtimer which fires every 100ms (ModeSingle).

The reason I have the timer going off every 100ms is to update the page as there is a running clock which is Min:Sec.Hund

What the webtimer action event does is

Dim SCBData As ScoreboardDataClass

' Fetch Scoreboard Data
 SCBData = App.ScoreboardData

' Update Form, Name, Time etc
xxxxxx

' Reset Timer
  tmrUpdatePage.Reset

When running in debug the running time is for example , 1:01.10, 1:01.20, 1:01.30 which is what I expect, when viewing over the web it jumps about 1:01.10, 1:01.90, 1:02.40. I don’t have so much of a issue with that.

What I’m worried about is the amount of processing power being used to just run 10 of these is about 40%

Is there a better way of doing this i’m new to Xojo, we could be looking at 100+ users

[quote=117955:@Graham Spratt]I’m writing a live scoreboard in Xojo, I’ve had a play and come up with something that works by using a webtimer which fires every 100ms (ModeSingle).
The reason I have the timer going off every 100ms is to update the page as there is a running clock which is Min:Sec.Hund
What I’m worried about is the amount of processing power being used to just run 10 of these is about 40%
Is there a better way of doing this i’m new to Xojo, we could be looking at 100+ users[/quote]

First remark : do you really need a precision to the hundred of a second ? Usual digital clocks update every second only. Without changing your code, you would gain 100 times processing power just by changing the timer period.