Linux or Windows for Web Hosting

I am going to sign up for a domain name with Go Daddy and they offer a hosting package with either Windows or Linux. I am working on an online TCG game that will use a web server to handle log ins and connecting players to one another. Which option should I choose, or it doesn’t really matter.

More important than Linux or Windows is making sure that you have a VPS. Shared servers typically don’t play well with XOJO web apps. With GoDaddy, the lower cost options are most often shared servers. Make sure what you get with your choice of plan.

I would also suggest to look at XOJO-friendly hosting services. Xojo Cloud and 1701 Hosting come to mind. Either solution is used by many forum members.

I have been using 1701 since 2013. It is Linux based and the service is outstanding. Phillip Zedalis is a member of this forum and uses Xojo. It counts when you need assistance.

I know some members use Go Daddy, but choosing them or any other standard host means you will be on your own to install and support your Xojo Web apps, since their support has no idea what Xojo is. I had a rather unpleasant experience in the past like that with people who did not know duck about Xojo and cared even less.

You may want to check these threads :
https://forum.xojo.com/conversations/all?search="go%20daddy"

One of my servers is a VPS at GoDaddy running CentOS 6. It has performed flawlessly and I have been extremely happy with it. But as the others have said, you have to be ready to do some configuration. If you are not comfortable installing 32 bit libraries, httpd, mysqld or setting up your firewall, etc… then I wouldn’t recommend it. Phillip is ready to go with Xojo, and of course, xojo cloud is built-in.