License system for a desktop app

I don’t know where I have to start looking. So I started a “new conversation” :slight_smile:

I want to have some license system for my desktop app. But I want to make sure that a license is not being used across too many machines, to prevent pirates to copy a license file and pass it on to others. So, I guess a webapp might help to keep track of the license keys.

Before reinventing the wheel I was wondering if others have dealt with a similar challenge. If so… what is the best approach? Any suggestions?

I am NOT a lawyer but this is what my lawyer told me… talk to a lawyer to verify…

you need to make sure in the EULA you have clause(s) that say you collect information. Or in some states/provinces/countries you could get in serious trouble.

then send the registration info + hostname? (or whatever you are going to use as a reference to the machine) back to the “mothership” (to a webapp that records it. Make sure that the connection from Desktop.app to the Web.app is HTTPS and not HTTP. Lots of locations require that any “sensitive” data is transferred encrypted.

I would love to say this is the magical formula for doing what you are asking but it is going to depend on what information you want to collect and send back to you. And what you are going to do with the information. And so forth.

good luck!