Let me introduce myself

Hi everyone.
I’ve been on the forums for about 10 months.
I want to say a million special thanks to all people at the kind and helping Xojo community.
You’ve created one of the friendliest and richest sources of knowledge in coding.
Something that I’m sure has, is, and will help A LOT of people learn to write code.

A bit about myself:
I’m a pharmD student who decided to learn programming for automating the repetitive parts of my works.
I don’t remember exactly when I started learning to code, I guess I’ve been at it on and off from 4 years ago.
I started with Python and then Ruby, actually I found Ruby very robust and friendly. I loved it, but I was disappointed when I found about the lack of a robust and friendly GUI framework (*). So I abandoned them, and tried to learn Objective-C, but found it too overwhelming and abandoned programming all together for awhile.
After a long break, one day during aimless web surfing, I accidentally landed on a wikipedia page about Xojo, and since then it has changed my life, and allowed me to consider myself a “programmer”, although a noob one.
I really enjoy coding, I code for 20 hours straight without feeling any tiredness or hunger.
And everyday I’m learning something new here.
After mastering Xojo, I plan to give Obj-C another try, but I will continue mainly using Xojo, and will use Obj-C for declares inside Xojo to broaden its capabilities.
Because Xojo allows me to focus on the function and purpose of the program, instead of the code details. and you can do the job faster using Xojo.
My current project is a cryptography application using my own encryption algorithm.

• is framework the right word here? I still don’t know exactly what API, library, plugin, addon, and framework mean; and also don’t know the difference between them)

Welcome to the club. Would you like a T-shirt? :slight_smile:

Radium,