Introspection

I have a superclass, let’s call it “MyClass”
I have many subclasses of this (and will have more). They all have a single constructor that is predictable.

I create a new instance of MyClass, and some of its properties will be one of its SubClasses: MyClass1, MyClass2, etc.

I can find that they are there, and what their name is (etc) using introspection.
Now I’m trying to populate the property with a new instance of that class. I can’t get the ConstructorInfo to be reported (always an empty array).

I am assuming I’d want to find the constructor and then call .invoke() on it, but with an empty array I cannot.
It kind of looks like I have to already have an instance of the class instantiated before I can do this, but that defeats my purpose (and I’m assuming isn’t the requirement).

Does someone have a VERY simple example of how to do this?

Hope this is clear enough. This is my first attempt at Introspection.

Did you create a Constructor on the Super, or rely on Xojo’s default Constructor?

And are there any parameters to the Constructor?

[quote=441748:@Chris Halford]I have a superclass, let’s call it “MyClass”
I have many subclasses of this (and will have more). They all have a single constructor that is predictable.

I create a new instance of MyClass, and some of its properties will be one of its SubClasses: MyClass1, MyClass2, etc.
[/quote]
A snippet fo code illustrating what you’re trying to do to construct one would be useful as I’m not sure I follow

@Kem Tekinay the super class has an empty constructor and one that takes a dictionary.

Your question may give me a hint of what to do next.

I assume you have something like

Class MyClass
        Sub Constructor()
        End Sub

Sub Constructor( d as dictionary)
       End Sub
   end class

Class MySub
    inherits MyClass

property foo as integer
  end class

or something like this