how to go about saving passwords

I was hoping you all can help me by sharing some ideas on how to save passwords to the computer. I have a console app that checks emails and I wanted to save the passwords so my app can read them in and check emails. For testing, currently I am writing them to a pref’s file as plain text which is obviously not secure. I am developing for mac and windows.

Might be an overkill, but I store passwords in an encrypted SQLite database.

You might want to take a look at this conversation Joseph…

https://forum.xojo.com/10622-how-to-store-a-hashed-password-in-an-sqlite-db

I doubt that one can ever be too safe when it comes to passwords… if it is hashed as well it is even better.

Thanks guys.

From reviewing Alwyn’s link, it looks like I can use the crypto class to create a key and encrypt the data (email passwords) then save them to a database. Where then would I keep the key stored?

Forgive me if these questions are super basic. I have zero experience with encryption. :slight_smile:

the question is if those are passwords you need in clear text later for login somewhere or if that are passwords for your own app which you store to verify later.
For the second case, please hash them before storing.
An encrypted SQLite database provides some security.

On Mac it should be stored in the OS Keychain. Nowhere else.

Tim great point and reminder for OS X!

Also:
http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/KeyChain

Is there a feature on windows that is similar to the keychain? Maybe I can do some declares to take advantage of built in features.

If you’re using the passwords internally, you need to store them encrypted. If you’re using passwords that are entered manually (like in a textfield), you only store the hash of the password… then reference the hash of the password entered to the hash stored (if they match, you can assume it is the correct password).

Thank you for the suggestions. So far, here’s my plan: