How to Calling Parent Method from SubClass

I have created a CustomWebTextField SubClass and this subclass will be bind to the WebTextField in my WebPage1.

In the CustomWebTextField SubClass , I would like to have some statements in the KeyPressed Event
Example:
CustomWebTextField.KeyPressed Event

Select Case details.KeyCode Case details.KeyArrowDown Self.KeyPressedArrowDownMethod // I had coded this statement wrongly. End Select

I would like the “KeyPressedArrowDownMethod” to be called in the WebPage1 instead. The “Self” is referring to the WebPage1 and not the CustomWebTextField SubClass. I do not know how to substitude this.

it seems like I need to use a Class Interface but as I am still new to Xojo environment, I still have difficulties in understanding the documentation. May anyone kind enough to help me to address this issue?

Thank you.

Hi Alvin,

a control can refer the containing page using the Page property.
So in general you can write:

me.page.KeyPressedArrowDownMethod

But your control is defined outside the containing webpage so you must tell the compiler what kind of page the control is in.
For example if your page is named MySpecialPage, you must write:

MySpecialPage(me.page).KeyPressedArrowDownMethod

Please note that this approach isn’t exactly object oriented and, as you can see, is also very unclean.
In your case you are defining a custom WebTextField that can be used only in a known page type that is defining a KeyPressedArrowDownMethod

A better solution is to define an event in your custom WebTextField that reports to the “outside world” a possibly relevant event i.e. something that someone else, when required, must handle.
Using this different approach you can reuse your custom control also in a page where the down arrow key must not be handled.

Best regards.

You should define an event in your custom control/class passing appropriate parameters and handle that event where the control/object is instantiated.