How do I add the GPIO module to app

Despite decades of programming and hardware design, I am new to Xojo, linux, and Pi though I did extensive apps in VB3. I am trying to use the GPIO on a Pi3. I have wiringpi on the pi, but I can’t get the simple led blink to compile - nummerous item does not exist errors.

I am at
https://github.com/xojo/GPIO

To add the GPIO library to your projects, download it from GitHub, open the project and select the WiringPiXojo module in the Navigator. You can then copy and paste it to your own Xojo projects.

I have never used github before. ‘download it from GitHub’ - I have downloaded the .zip - I have no clue how to ‘open the project and select the WiringPiXojo module in the Navigator’. Once I can do that - where do I ‘You can then copy and paste it to your own Xojo projects.’

I unzipped it and in the GPIO folder opened the LCD project? code in Xojo IDE - I cannot see anything…

Yes I am an idiot, but can someone help me to get a stupid LED to flash. I need stupid idiot instruction.

Dave

I have loaded the GPIO project and have copied the methods but still get errors, obviously have not yet loaded the MODULE…

Dave

OK so I copied and pasted the GPIO module into my app. All of the errors disappeared except the pragma errors. I can delete the offending error causing lines, but that does not seem right.

Dave

The pragma errors should only appear if you try to run/build for anything but the Pi (Linux/ARM).

Check the examples for complete projects:
Examples/Platform Support/Linux/Pi (or similar — not at my computer right now).

You’re almost there… I’ve had the pragma errors show up in a couple of instances:

1. I forget to set the build target (Linux ARM)
  2. Run on the host (non-pi) instead of remote debug to the Pi.

Sorry in advance for the verbal diarrhea, but won’t be posting for a long time I expect. I can’t imagine what its like for a complete noobie.