Help with a fundamental decision

Goodmorning All,
I have this fundamental issue ad I would like to ask your honest opinions about this. I would like to become proficient in programming skills for web deployment.
As I am only vaguely familiar with HTML/PHP and not at all with Xojo, I am wondering: which learning curve will I take? HTML/PHP or Xojo?
What will bring me the more value and knowledge? Let’s be brutally honest. HTML/PHP has a HUGE user- and knowledgebase. Xojo can only hope to achieve this popularity. On the other hand - and judging by the features - Xojo looks like a more refined product (I say ‘looks’ because I am not a programmer yet and I can only judge Xojo by what its developers tell me - no disrespect intended).

Could I ask you to put yourself in my shoes and tell me the honest truth.

Should I take the HTML/PHP path and follow an already very established development environment, or should I take the Xojo learning curve and hope to become proficient enough to build stuff great enough to bring some money on the table.

Your comments and advise will be hugely appreciated.

Sunny regards from Spain,
Juan

PS: if there is someone on the Costa Blanca who can help me with Xojo, I’d jump to that opportunity.

While I don’t use Web with Xojo and do use a little PHP on my own site, I only use for very simple tasks, like populating data from an object and injecting the header and footer into every page. Meanwhile, a buddy of mine who is a very experienced PHP coder has been stuck with an issue in PHP for 3 weeks now (it’s too deep for me to offer any advice), and no-one else is able to help him either. So while there might be more PHP coders out there, there are still issues with it that no-one knows how to solve.

Besides, Xojo was designed so that you wouldn’t have to learn HTML/PHP/MYSQL/CSS/JavaScript.