Going from Scripting to Software Engineer-ing

I am wondering how I would upgrade myself from “scripting” to “software engineering”.

My history:
I have a degree in New Media Design and taught myself how to make static websites (ie - restaurants or photographer’s portfolio). My first job of 5 years involved maintaining an ecommerce website using HTML, CSS, and jQuery. 3 years ago I quit to work for my current employer. For the first 2.5 years I have been working in Angular which was straight-forward for me to learn. My team recently shifted projects where we are writing drivers for smart devices in Java and I am struggling a lot!

My problem:
I feel like I am missing a lot of education and formal training from a Computer Science degree. As a result, I am struggling to understand the complex web of classes and patterns I see in my Java driver project. I have labelled myself as being a good scripter, but now I want to be a software engineer. I am wondering if there are any courses or things I should learn to reach my goal as a software engineer?

Note:
I feel like I have a decent understanding of Java as I have watched a number of courses in Udemy and PluralSights. When I open a Java class, I understand the syntax. I just get confused when a class refers to another class, and then refers to another class and so forth. I didn’t find this sort of “web tangling” objects in my web projects.

well if I may give advice: Firstly put all programing languages aside and try to learn the basics of boolean algebra, how logical strctures and gates work. It’s kinda of following the genesis of computers.How networks and TCP/IP works, clients and servers comminicate.