Getting ideas

Back in the 70s and 80s, I was a programmer and then I switched to technical writing. Well, the writing market is drying up and I have an urge to return to programming, er, development. I’ve tinkered with Xojo to the point where I have a couple of apps for personal use under my belt and think it could be time to start thinking about a small commercial app or two to test the waters (and my abilities).

However, I have a problem.

Absolutely no ideas! Ridiculous, I know.

So, my question is simple: where do you get your inspiration? I’m NOT looking for specific ideas for an app, just a general process or strategy that can help me back onto the right road. I appreciate any serious comments you can provide.

My ideas come from personal needs. If I need to do something and there’s no existing solution, or the existing solution is terrible, I create my own solution. When I was younger one of my private personal use apps actually took off, so evaluate your private projects. Do they solve a problem nothing else does? That may be something to share!

This little blurb from the creator of CodeKit shows just how most great apps come from the needs of the creator.
It’s a builder’s “I can fix that!” attitude.

Or from Robots: See a need, fill a need!

Robots rock!

Only one problem I see with “CodeKit”… uh… What does it DO? No where on the website does it say… even the Help docs, don’t provide a functional overview…

Yes, pay attention on what you are doing on a daily basis.