Getting an Inner Join to work

For weeks I am trying to get an inner Join between 2 tables to work. One table is called Stories and contains story information and the other table is called Characters and contains character information, this table has a field the refers to the ID field in the Stories table. The goal is after selecting a Story title in the Stories listbox, only see the Characters that belong to that story in the Characters Listbox.

I studied the info in the Database basics for beginners — Xojo documentation page and came up with this code that works in the “DB Browser for Sqlite” Execute Sqlite tab:

SELECT * FROM characters INNER JOIN Stories on Stories.ID = Characters.FKStory WHERE stories.Story_title = 'A Christmas Carol'

The results are correct, only the characters belonging to the story title that I added at the end (‘A Christmas Carol’) are shown.

I cannot get this in Xojo to work though. I placed this code in the ListBoxCharacters. Running the app shows me ALL the characters from ALL the stories in the database, not only from '‘A Christmas Carol’.

Of course that last part should be changed; I don’t want to add the Story title in the code, but select a story from the StoriesListbox instead. But I figured I want to get this part to work first.

So why is this code working correctly in the DB Browser for Sqlite program, but not in Xojo?

Without knowing what Xojo code you tried will be hard to help you.

1 Like

When a story is selected, you need to update the characters list box. You’ll need to do this with some Xojo code, probably in the SelectionChanged event of the stories list box. Xojo generally doesn’t automatically update controls.

If this doesn’t help, we might need more information to help you.

I would do the following:

• Use the RowTag of the listbox to store your Stories.ID value.
  • when the row is selected use the RowTag to access the characters without any join.

SELECT * FROM characters where FKStory=ID