Get multiple client data to a web app

Hi all,

I’m brand new to xojo.

I’d like to design a system where multiple Windows clients (up to around 100) can communicate their string (JSON) data to a standalone xojo web app.

The clients will need to send between 10 & 200 bytes at roughly once every 10 seconds.

The web app will show all client data on the page.

My question is:
What methods can I use to get the clients data to the web app?
Server socket in the web app? Shared database?
I’d prefer a socket/tcp method to avoid the complexity of a dB.

Any pointers greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Darren

Hi and welcome.

We’re a small community. Someone will answer you when they get the chance. Please don’t double post within the hour, that’s kind of rude.

I can give you my welcome spiel if you want it, but it starts with: read the manual, don’t jump in to a project.

There should be some examples for web applications, also on the documentation.xojo.com pages you might be able to find alot about Web Topics.

A web application has events you might add using the IDE, named:
App.HandleURL and App.HandleSpecialURL
They both provide Request As WebRequest as a parameter.

In the event you can use it to read the incoming (HTTP) data, which might be JSON.
This is actually a HTTP Server, as a backend, ideal for your purpose.

Xojo Web Reference
Xojo WebApplication Class Reference
There you can see the events and read more about it.

It’s best to use App.HandleSpecialURL which you can call like so: 127.0.0.1:8080/api/ or 127.0.0.1:8080/special/
when your using the debugger (Run button).

Hi Derk & Tim,

Tim - thanks for the welcome.
I started looking at Xojo about a week ago because I wanted to branch out from .net and broaden my developer horizons, so to speak.

Apologies for the double post. I posted in “getting started” and only after thought that it may be more beneficial to post in web. This is my first appearance on this forum :slight_smile: