General questions for newcomer

Hi all,

I came across Xojo a couple of years back but now with the prospect of supporting Android development in the near future, I decided to give this tool another go. I haven’t yet started developing nor purchased any licensing apart from some tutorials to get me familiarised. At the moment I am mainly a FileMaker developer. I wanted to ask here a few simple questions for Xojo Cloud:

1. Can I add more than one app on a single server? For example I have a couple of small web apps that shouldn’t really need more than a Small instance cloud server and economically it would be really expensive to host them one for each server. If this is possible, does anyone have a few examples were they have used multiple apps on the same Xojo Cloud instance?

2. Roughly how many users per web app per each of the 3 instance types in Xojo cloud would be a maximum? Of course it varies greatly per app and its complexity but if you could please give me some rough estimates that would be great.

3. For any app on Xojo is it possible to add custom HTML code? Just like a webviewer in FileMaker, for those who are familiar with it as well.

Thanks

Christos

Yes, you can run multiple apps on a single server. Each app goes into its own folder. You’ll just need to make sure your combined apps don’t exceed the capabilities of the server.

There is no enforced limit. It just depends on how your app is built. Xojo apps only use a single CPU so offloading lengthy processes to helper Console apps can increase the load a web app can support.

Xojo has the WebHTMLViewer control for displaying whatever HTML you want. You can also embed special HTML and JavaScript using appropriate properties of the App class and control classes. Lastly you can use the WebSDK to integrate HTML/JavaScript controls into Xojo.

Thank you @Paul Lefebvre you have answered most of it!