Future questions coming

I put this post here due to the fact that I’m not a professional programmer and while I feel comfortable programming with Xojo it is on a personal level. I have been tasked by my place of employment to create a Windows application that will use an access database or sqlite DB. I know that there will be no more than 3 concurrent connections to the DB so I’m leaning towards sqlite. Just a warning that I’m sure I will be asking many questions while building this application. While I was tasked for this application by my employer I was able to choose what environment I program it in and obviously I’m choosing Xojo. Just wanted to give fair warning to everyone that in the next month I will be asking questions while I run into them

Be aware that “concurrent connections” implies “network access to a database” and this is a recipe for problems if you dont run some kind of “database server”

placing a shared database (a file) on a network file share is not going to work well at all whether its access OR sqlite

just FYI

Norm,

thanks for the input

Maybe my knowledge and terminology is incorrect. There will be 3 techs reading and writing to the DB but not all at one time so no not concurrent but you are right as in there could be at some time. For this task there is zero database server to consider :confused:

It is a project that can grow but for now any type of database server is out of the question and I figured SQLite using WAL would suffice for the birth of this project and then it can grow from there. It is basically go with this starting point or let the project die and I would rather go for it :slight_smile:

Concurent access isn’t the issue here
its quite literally where will this common database be located ?
Since SQLite & Access are both file based (you open a database FILE) for these people to share it the database file would have to be on a file server of some kind