Functions, Methods & External Modules

Though I’m still very new to Xojo, I have a WebApp doing well now. It lets users log on and fill out a form of fields and press a button to have that emailed as a CSV file to someone else. All good.

But I keep reading articles on the Web and in XDev that refer to writing Functions and Methods with “Function … End Function”, and “Sub … End Sub”. I don’t see where they’re inserting such code in their Projects. I can see how I can use the IDE to, say, Insert Module, and then Add Method to that module, and then write the various parts of the Function or Method in the Method dialog box. But it looks like these developers are dynamically creating Functions and Methods via code. Is this correct?

Also, when I read Marc Zeedar’s “Power User Tips” (XDev March/April 2015, pp58-64), he talks about putting hundreds of such routines (“Function … End Function” stuff, or “Sub … End Sub” stuff) in an “external module called MarcLibrary.” I assume he somehow reuses these routines in various projects. When I look at a file created by Make External, I see a text file of code. I’m not sure how to use that file.

Try copy/pasting a method/function to textedit. You will see the same then.
This way, you’ll also see the parameters instead of only the code within.

You can also paste back a complete method/function (so it becomes a method/function again) but I’m always lost on how to do that. I think it has to do with clicking twice on where you want to copy it so the entry becomes blue. And then paste from the top menu.
(Or something like that.)

As for the text file, did you try to open it via file->open?

Marco,

Ah, I see. I can Copy a Method and Paste into a text editor. And I can Copy it back to the IDE and get the Method in there as long as the area I want to copy it to is selected fully (blue). And I see in the text editor the true underlying code with “Function … End Function” or “Sub … End Sub”.