From where do I control a multi window app?

Hi

I’m new to Xojo and I want to write an application that has multiple windows (probably about 8). I’m used to Visual Studio where I can elect to control my app from a form or from a standard module using a main procedure. The later is what I would like to do with my Xojo app, but I can’t see how to do it. My first window in my app will be a login window and it seems odd to control the whole app from that window. Can anyone tell me how I can control my app from outside of a window?

global Module, Methods, Properties

The core object of a desktop app is not he first window but the app object. That’s a good place for global properties and methods as well as a global menu handler and probably a good place for managing your app too.

The concept of central control of an event driven process is a bit outdated. Your app should respond to user activity, not try to drive it. Things will be much easier if you adjust your mindset.

Thanks for your replies. Sorry I’m so green at this.

The first thing that is to happen when my app opens is for a login window to show and then, when the user has logged in, that window is closed and a main menu window appears. That menu has about four options, each requiring a window of its own.

I just went to the app object and created a method, called it Main and wrote some code in it that I was hoping would be read as soon as the app opened, but it didn’t read that code. What am I doing wrong, please?

Show us the codes, pleaze.

If you know a bit about object oriented programming check out MVC. If you don’t know about OOP check it out, too :slight_smile: .

Because you came from Visual Studio.

The Xojo Desktop app doesnt have a Main() as such.
The closest is the Open() event.

Your app object should be given an Open() event (use Add Event Handler instead of Add Method)
What is in the Open() event will fire when the app starts, and when it completes, the application should /could end