Format of Times

Hello all,

I am brand new to Xojo and my goal is to build a custom scheduling and budgeting app for mac, windows and perhaps the web. A key component of this is being able to have my users enter times on a schedule with as few keystrokes as possible. I don’t really want to use pull down menus for this. I want times to be entered into text fields that then automatically format the text to the desired format.

A lot of this work is currently being done in Excel, and there the user can enter “7:30 p” and the software automatically sets the field to “7:30 PM” Even better would be if the user could enter “730p” and have the field show “7:30 PM” automatically. Eventually I would like to include an option for military time format, but that is not widely used at the moment by my end users.
The times entered are down to the minute like “12:01 PM” and sometimes I’ll need to show durations between times including the seconds.

I’m a complete beginner, but I know that this functionally is key to the success the project so I want to make sure this is possible before going too far down the path. Any comments appreciated.

Thanks

Maury - the following 3 links will help you achieve this:

link text
link text
link text

If you need further help, do not hesitate to ask again here - the community are always very helpful :slight_smile:

User entered text strings can easily have text prepended / appended etc, which will change the user entered time into the format you require :slight_smile:

[quote=137215:@Maury Jensen]Hello all,

I am brand new to Xojo and my goal is to build a custom scheduling and budgeting app for mac, windows and perhaps the web. A key component of this is being able to have my users enter times on a schedule with as few keystrokes as possible. I don’t really want to use pull down menus for this. I want times to be entered into text fields that then automatically format the text to the desired format.