Faulting Error on VCRUNTIME140.dll

Hi

Firstly I would like to explain that I am relatively new to XoJo, having not developed anything from scratch, merely supporting / customising an existing application.

I have a client who has a bespoke application which has been compiled using version 2016r4.1

They are in the process of upgrading hardware to Windows 10 machines and have begun seeing faulting errors with VCRUNTIME140.dll when printing.

I am guessing that there is a compatibility issue with the version of the DLL within the compiled Program Libs path, 14.0.23506.0 and the corresponding Windows 10 version.

Can someone please advise if I can just replace this DLL with the newer version? Apologies if that is a stupid question, as I suggested earlier, this issue is a little out of my comfort zone!

I have tried to recompile the application last year but that caused other issues and the client decided they would continue with the version they had as they didn’t have the time to test the full application!

Many thanks for any suggestions!

Kind regards

Steve

Hi Steve,

Is the message something like the DLL can’t be found ? I suggest googling for the name of the DLL. For example I have found https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-windows_install-winpc/vcruntime140dll/b1a15b0e-e389-41a3-bc49-f4fc85bac575 In one of the answers you will find:

You need to install the Microsoft Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable Update 3 RC

Searching on my computer I found that this DLL is in a Xojo’s directory., among others. Lots of applications use that DLL, for example Valentina, MS Office, ESET Security, etc.

Are they getting this issue when running the app compiled with 2016r4.1 ? If so try compiling with a a newer version of Xojo.

Hi Giles

Thanks for the response.