Event when a thread ends?

Hi
In the now deprecated Task class, there were events for the various states of the Task, importantly one called “Finished”

Xojo now recommend the use of the new Thread class with the UserInterface event. But it has no event to say the Thread is completed, and no way to add event definitions.

Can anyone suggest how to implement such a thing pls? I would like to set my thread off running in the background and have some event fire when it is done. My thread is now working fine (it is uploading a bunch of files to an FTP server) but notification when it is done would be great.

Many thanks
Mark

Why stop using Task class?
It can still be helpful.

Deprecated according to the Xojo docs.

So as I am developing now I am trying to avoid writing stuff that may need changing.

Am I being unnecessarily cautious?

I am fairly new to the world of Xojo so dont know the history and what their policy has been on how long things are deprecated before being removed.

What do you think?

Task class was in an example project. They now include an extra event in the thread class, but internally it’s also driven by a timer. I have no idea why they didn’t include a finished event.

1 Like

Yes it seems strange to remove useful functionality like those events when introducing new features…

Is it possible to create Events in the Thread somehow?

When the the ‘Run’ event is finished … well… the thread is finished. :slight_smile:

It’s great to have an event on main thread when worker thread is done.
I think task class did that.

1 Like

When the the ‘Run’ event is finished … well… the thread is finished. :slight_smile: