Dynamic Array populate and recall contents

Good Evening All,

As I always I preface my questions with the statement that I am quite new to programming in general and to Xojo in specific, so please forgive if my question seems too elementary.

Basically I am trying to populate a dynamic string array from a SQL table which I can then recall for use in later SQL statements. I am close but not quite able to get to the results.

To populate the array, I am using following code

[code] dim db as new ODBCDatabase

dim strSQL as string
db.DataSource=""+uDSN+""
if db.connect then
strSQL = “SELECT Dept from DEPT where DeptGroup = ‘Service’”
Dim rsB As RecordSet = db.SQLSelect(strSQL)
if rsB = nil then
msgbox "No Service Depts Found or There was an error in my sql: "+ db.ErrorMessage
else
While Not rsB.EOF
ServiceDept.Append(rsB.Field(“Dept”).StringValue)
rsB.MoveNext
Wend
rsB.Close
end if
end if
[/code]

It appears that I am properly getting the expected results which should be (“40”,“42”,“44”)

Question 1 - Is the actual ServiceDept array being stored as (“40”,“42”,“44”) or is it being stored as (40,42,44) ? Is there any quick way to display the contents of the array? I can show a specific element such a ServiceDept(1) but I want to see the whole thing.

After I populate the array I am trying to retrieve all records that are in one of the those departments using the following code but I am getting a type mismatch exception where I try to use the global variable — AND SALEDEPT in (’"+str(ServiceDept)+"’) – . If I simply hard code — AND SALEDEPT in (‘40’,‘44’) — everything works fine.

[code] Sub GetInfo()
dim db as new ODBCDatabase

lstWO.DeleteAllRows

dim strSQL as string
db.DataSource=""+uDSN+""
if db.connect then
strSQL = “SELECT WONO,SHIPNAME,UnitNo,ServiceVan,ShopDateIn,ShopEstimatedCompletionDate,(case when ShopStatus = ‘In Process’ then”_