Drawing to a mask

I am not very experienced with masks. In my project, I draw with the graphics on my mask. I get a NilObjectException error unless I set a depth. How do I prevent this NilObjectException without the depth. I basically want to apply a mask.

Thanks

You always set a depth … and the depth is set as part of creating the Picture Object… .not the mask specifically

P=new picture(100,100,32) ' create a 100x100 picture with depth of 32 [full color]
g=p.graphics ' set a pointer to the pictures top layer
m=p.mask
' draw stuff

for the most part you deal with the mask lay using the same commands as the main layer… but usually only in shades of GRAY to define varying levels of transparency. with BLACK and WHITE being on both ends of that scale

[quote=52896:@Dave S]You always set a depth … and the depth is set as part of creating the Picture Object… .not the mask specifically

P=new picture(100,100,32) ' create a 100x100 picture with depth of 32 [full color]
g=p.graphics ' set a pointer to the pictures top layer
m=p.mask
' draw stuff

for the most part you deal with the mask lay using the same commands as the main layer… but usually only in shades of GRAY to define varying levels of transparency. with BLACK and WHITE being on both ends of that scale[/quote]
I am not sure if you know what I am trying to do.

I am trying to make a mask for the picture which I have got, with a transparent mask.

Thanks

I know exactly what you are trying to do.

1. create a picture object that same size as your existing picture (I am assuming it to NOT have an alpha level)
  2. using code simlar to above. use DRAWPICTURE to place your image on the main layer
  3. now fill in the pixels on the mask layer with black or white as they correspond to pixels on the main layer (hint RGBSURFACE)

it is up to you to decide what gets masked and not.

[advice. be careful how you word your responses… if people take the content of your words wrong… you won’t get much help.