Desktop Guidelines

I have been writing desktop software for many many years, and have basically just laid out the GUI however seemed to look best at the time…
But was wondering if anyone knew of any specific documentation (“Apple HIG” is too general) the specifies

• how far horizontally a textfield should be from the label describing it
  • how far apart vertically lines of controls should be
  • should they be a fixed # of pixels? or should the distances be based on the font size used in the label/control?

This would relate to a desktop screen, not an iPhone/iPad screen

The “snap to” isn’t perfect on some of these things so you have to fidget with arrow keys sometimes.

1. I usually right-align the label and let the inspector snap it (12px)
  2. It depends on the control, I find that the IDE snap of 12px is a bit much and will sometimes shrink it to 6px or 4px. Checkboxes I put 2px apart vertically (top + height + 2px) in the IDE and it looks fine.
  3. You shouldn’t be doing anything to the font size.

Thanks, but that doesn’t answer the question about “official documentation”, just that you lay things out how they “look best” to you at the time…

Like I said, it varies by control. You have to look at each control doc: https://developer.apple.com/library/content/documentation/UserExperience/Conceptual/OSXHIGuidelines/ControlsAll.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/20000957-CH46-SW1

Other than that spacing is suggested by Xcode snap guidelines, I just tried to summarize it for you…

never mind…

Pardon me, but you may be chasing something that does not exist. Unless you get into the principles of composition familiar to artists. There are indeed rules like the famous golden ratio, but that is going way beyond usual UI design. Although it can certainly be applied here.

https://blog.prototypr.io/golden-ratio-in-ui-design-8d11e66582c3

There was an interesting discussion here.