Declare to external dll ptr and string array problem

Hi. I’m new to declares and am struggling to understand how to declare a dll function that has a CString array paramater and then access that array as a Xojo string array. I’m assuming that I have to use a pointer to the CString array instead. Here’s the call:

Soft Declare Function GetSynonymList lib "My_DLL_Lib" (synonyms As Ptr, word As CString) As Integer

// Result is the count of synonyms found, i.e. the number of CString items in synonyms array

Dim synonyms() As String
Dim result As Integer

result = GetSynonymList(synonyms, "grateful")

If result > 0 then synonyms have been found so I need to loop throught the referenced “synonyms” array pointer but don’t know how.

Can anyone please advise me on how to do this?

Thanks.

It really depends on the implementation of GetSynonymList in the dll. In general, though, there is no automatic conversion of an array of strings built in to Xojo to help you. You’re going to have to get an amorphous chunk of memory back from the dll and pick out the contents yourself.

You will need to pass a MemoryBlock to the first parameter, not a string or array of strings. Passing a string to the second parameter is correct, as Xojo does do an automatic conversion from String to CString when passing data TO the dll (it does not do an automatic conversion when getting data back from the dll).