DateTime Math?

Hello,

I’m building an app with Xojo using MySQL that periodically will reach out to an MSSQL Server database via XML and get a list of new or changed records between two DateTime markers. The MySQL database will then be updated. It’s a low traffic proposition. This is my first time doing something like this and am wondering how best to do the math when checking if it’s time for the next polling of the MSSQL Server database? I also don’t want to be dealing with daylight savings time issues. I’m thinking that I should use the TotalSeconds? Would this be correct or do I still need to set the GMTOffset to 0 or somehow deal with daylight savings time. Not sure if that would be correct.

Since it is a low traffic database I would probably only query the MS database every 30 minutes, 1800 seconds. It seems easy enough to work that out. OTOH, It is easy enough to get the SQLDateTime but I’m not clear on how to do the math on that, adjust for daylight savings time, and then translate the SQLDateTime into the format necessary for the MS database.

I’d be happy to hear some suggestons. Thanks.

Off the wall thinking for you, something to think about.

Rather than pull from mysql - why not push from mssql? If your mssql edition supports ssis (ETL) then simplybuild an ssis package that fires every 30 minutes and pushes data to your mysql database. No XML needed. You may not have to worry about the date stuff either?

Or

Look into replication (either from mysql or mssql) to get the data.

In the former case, since precision is not a factor, why not just use a Timer?

I can only access the mssql database via an XML API. So I have to prepare an XML statement where the datetime parameters looks like this:

"<StartDate>2013-04-01T00:00:00</StartDate>" "<EndDate>2013-04-01T23:59:00</EndDate>"

I get back a list of record id’s for records that have been created or have changed between those times. Then I loop through those and deal with it.