Data control not updating DB

I am new to Xojo, just imported one of my two VB programs that need to be updated.

I can see my data on my mysql database server, and it displays in the forms that I have created. However, it does not save the changes that I make in the forms.

In the data app I have selected the database, and the table. In the sql window I have “SELECT * FROM xxxxxx” (xxxxx would be the table name, depending on what form is open at the moment).

Am I missing a control setting, or what needs to be added to have the data control update the field?

I hope not missunderstanding you. but here is an example how you update Mysql data from simple textfield.

Dim rs as RecordSet
Dim Db as mySQLCommunityServer
Db=New mySQLCommunityServer

// Connect to MySQLServer
Db.host=“IPadress”
Db.port=3306
Db.databaseName=“DBname”
Db.userName=“root”
Db.Password=“Password”

If Db.Connect then //If the database connected:

rs = Db.SQLSelect("SELECT * FROM TableName WHERE primaryKey ='" +TxtFieldID.Text + "'")

if(rs.RecordCount <> 0) then
  TxtFieldID.Text = rs.IdxField(1).StringValue

rs.Edit

if TxtFieldEpost.text="" then
  else
    rs.IdxField(2).StringValue=ConvertEncoding(Lowercase(TxtFieldEpost.text), Encodings.ISOLatin1)
  end if

if TxtFieldEName.text="" then
  else
    rs.IdxField(3).StringValue =ConvertEncoding(Lowercase(TxtFieldName.text), Encodings.ISOLatin1)
  end if

rs.Update
  Db.Commit

else
  MsgBox("User Not found")

end if

if (Db.error) then
  msgBox("FAILED!!! " + Db.errorMessage)
else

msgBox("SUCCESS!!!") 

end if

rs.Close

End If

Monzer, this is very interesting. I am also finding it impossible toget DataControl to perform any task other than simple browsing of tables.

Are you saying that the DataControl methods cannot be used to Edit / Update / Insert records??