Create Subclass of TextInputCanvas

Hi everyone,

days ago, i studied @Bob Keeneys TextInputCanvas Sample-Project. It’s good to start with this control. I thought about how to extend these Control to use it as a minimal Word-Processor. I know Bob’s Formated Text Control, but i think it’s cool to have a look, how i’m able to do simple RichText-things with that control.

[h]Multiline Text[/h]
It’s simple along you use a single TextFont and TextSize.

1. split your Text into an Paragraph-Array by EndOfLine-Seperator
  2. check, if StringWidth of each line > TextInputCanvas.Width. If yes, split again, if no, everythigs fine
  3. draw each Paragraph/line

[h]Formatted Text[/h]

1. each Paragraph (line) has multiple words, characters.
  2. each character could have his own TextFont, TextSize, TextColor (enough at the moment)
  3. to calculate the current LineWidth we need to add the Width of each Character and check if total width of TextInputCanvas < or > LineWidth, again yes or no…
  4. how to calculate LineHeight? Need to check every Characters TextSize. Biggest TextSize = LineHeight

[h]Structure[/h]

Character

• TextFont
  • TextSize
  • TextColor

Word

• Array of Characters
  • GetWordWidth As Integer
  • GetWordHeight As Integer // highest character

Line

• Array of Words
  • GetLineWidth As Integer
  • Get LineHeight As Integer // highest word

You see, just some thoughts about so a task.

How would you go on with a concept? How to do the calculations? Any input, additions? Someone interested to work on such a control together?

Greetings

Hi everyone,

sad no one has some input :wink:

I created a small sample Subclass based on @Bob Keeney 's Sample. It has the following modifications:

I tried to use the cmdPaste in DoCommand to insert Text from Clipboard, but it doesn’t work. Why?

[code]…
case CmdPaste
MsgBox(“Paste”)

Dim c As New Clipboard
If c.TextAvailable Then
InsertText(c.Text, mSelection)
End If
c.Close
…[/code]