Crashing

I have a program that consists of one window with a LOT of controls on it (which may or may not be a factor) which runs when opened the first time and sometimes thereafter. It usually crashes after three or four runs. It’s Windows 10 Pro. I’m running the latest Xojo (2023 r1.1) but have tried it with 2022 versions to same result. I have all my methods, properties tied to this window.

I’ve tried shutting off all the processes I can except for Dropbox which I think I remember someone in the past saying it can interfere. I have OneDrive running but am loading the program from the Desktop.

I’m a hobby programmer so I don’t know all the correct nomenclature and when I searched for similar issues I got lost in the weeds. I guess my question is, is this a problem for others?

First of all, is this a crash or an exception?

Crash. Everything shuts down: my app and Xojo, that is. Doesn’t crash Windows.

One time I got an error message – didn’t write it down because, strangely, my app ran and I didn’t discover the message until I quit it.

Open the Windows Task Manager and keep an eye on the memory usage, handles, user objects and GDI objects counters to see if they keep increasing.

Not sure what all that means but I have looked at Background Processes and Windows Processes and, so far, not much change.

There should be an entry in the task manager process list for your application. You should see various columns relating to memory usage, handles etc… (if not you can customise the list and add the columns).

If you have a leak of some kind then these values will continue to grow.

For example, you will get a crash when you hit approx. 10,000 GDI objects. If you application is 32 bit then it will crash at around 3GB of memory.

Thanks. I’ll check.

With my app running here’s what I see:

The crash only occurs when starting. If it makes it past the initial stage, all is fine. Never crashes once in the app.

OK. I very much doubt its a leak.