Copyright process question

Has anyone been through the process of applying for a copyright on an application?
If you have what did you send to meet the requirement for a file?

From which of the 200+ countries on earth are you?

Thats easy to answer:
It is almost of not impossible to copyright an application (software).
Good luck with that. :slight_smile:

Actually, in the US you can copyright the software. Now, does that copyright do you any good? I have a feeling it’s only good if someone uses your actual code, not just if they make a similar program (I’m no lawyer, so don’t believe anything I say about legal stuff, LOL). Here’s the US copyright info for software:

http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ61.pdf

I’m in the US and copyrighted some modules that I put on Github. I used Legal Zoom. Filled out an online form and later uploaded the source and they did the rest. It was pretty painless.

From the above link:

[quote]For published or unpublished computer programs, send one copy of identifying portions of the program (first 25 and
last 25 pages of source code) reproduced in a form visually perceptible without the aid of a machine or device, either on paper or in microform[/quote]

Im not sure how to find the last 25 pages of Xojo source, let alone put it in a form that is perceptible without aid of a machine.

[quote=69331:@Jay Menna]
Im not sure how to find the last 25 pages of Xojo source, let alone put it in a form that is perceptible without aid of a machine.[/quote]
Print project to PDF
Print last 25 pages of PDF to paper

If you keep in mind that you can not copyright an idea or what is referred to as common routines and techniques, you’ll find that there is usually very little left in most commercial software that you can gain an enforceable copyright over. And even then you cannot prevent them from taking your idea and coding it up themselves.