Confusion over Classes!

Greetings. I’m new to Xojo and really considering for some future projects. I’ve been programming for years (C, VB6, ASP, VB.net) but not really versed in oop. Looking at Xojo, I’ve started out by building a simple, one button webform. All I want to do is connect to a database, run a SQL statement, and have it read back some of the items from a SELECT statement. Now, within the action event of the button, I can do this and it works fine. Declare a db object, set the parameters, read a recordset, etc. However, to extend my learning I am trying to move it over to a class. I have created a class with a db property and methods for opening, closing and reading a recordset from the database, but it doesn’t seem like I can set the properties (host, db name,etc) and get it to run properly. I am quite certain I could run all of this in a module but this is probably not the best way to do this in XOJO. Any advice would be most helpful. Thanks.

Can you post what you have so far?

///Action of button

Dim rsB As RecordSet
Dim clsTest as Class1
clsTest=new Class1

Dim i as Integer

i=clsTest.Connect_To_MYSQL(“localhost”,3306,“sakila”,“XOJO1”,“XOJO123”)
if i = 1 Then
rsB=clsTest.Retrieve_Data(“SELECT city.city FROM sakila.city”)

If rsB <> NIL Then
  rsB.MoveFirst
  While Not rsB.EOF
    msgBox(rsB.Field("city").StringValue)
    rsB.MoveNext
  Wend
  rsB.Close
  clsTest.Close_My_SQL
End IF

Else
MsgBox(“Unable to connect to Databse”)
End If

//Properties
db as MySQLCommunityServer

//Method connect to database
//Parameters
//sHost as String,iPort as Integer,sDBName as String,sUserName as String,sPWD as String

db.Host=sHost
db.port =iPort
db.DatabaseName=sDBName
db.UserName=sUserName
db.Password=sPWD

If Not db.Connect Then return 0 else return 1