Complete newbies

Hey guys. It seems like Xojo’s marketing efforts are working and we’re getting more and more new users on the forums. Some of them are complete beginners and really don’t even know the questions to ask half the time. I know it can be frustrating working with them, and it really isn’t your responsibility to teach someone the basics of programming. Especially if they seem to not be trying. But I would recommend that you simply walk away.

It’s ok to drop the conversation and leave them hanging. They’ll figure out that their line of inquiry isn’t working. Or maybe someone else will explain things in a different way that clicks with them. Who knows. Or maybe they’re really a troll. Who knows. In any event, just resist the urge to editorialize. If you get frustrated, step away. It’s their responsibility to learn how to use the language. If they become demanding, walk away faster. They’ll figure out that that doesn’t work, either.

Just my .02

And keep up the good work. This community rocks.

I don’t mind newbies that ask intelligent questions, and show that they have made some level of effort to solve their problem. And I understand the many newbies are not sure how best to phrase their questions (or in some cases if they are even asking the right questions).

What I do mind is those that “bite the hand that feeds them”… by that I mean those that complain that an “example piece of code” was not the full blown solution to their problem… or that provided code clearly marked as “untested/off the top of my head” doesn’t “just work”… and then the topper is when they begin name calling, threatening etc, because the level of help is not what they wanted.

So… for you newbies… really we do want to help… but you have to help yourself as well.

Experment
Read the Manuals
Ask questions… but in a way that show you have done some level of the first two things.