ChatGPT & Xojo information

I am a part time developer, and have tried ChatGPT to get a start on coding complex methods/functions that I am unfamiliar with… with mixed results.
Sometimes the results are spot on, but lately it’s yielded very poor, unusable and outdated code.
ChatGPT has said that its cutoff date of Xojo information was sometime in 2021.
So my question is… why is that? Does Xojo have control over that, or is limiting some way?
Not complaining, I would just love to see their info updated, as I initially found it as a great learning tool.

1 Like

It’s because that’s all the info they ChatGPT has injected so far. Not just Xojo, with everything.

When talking about Xojo to ChatGPT, I always use “Xojo (Formerly RealBasic)”

Also it can be useful to use the code interpreter, and upload a slightly stripped down version of the current docs (as a zip) and ask it to find the correct information from there.

ChatGPT and similar use input to “learn”. That input is what they find on the web.

Unfurtunatelly, xojo resources are not only tiny, they are disapearing with a lot of blogs and sites now closed.

On top of that, the questionable Api2… mostly renamed keywords, almost imposible to an AI to guess what is deprecated and what not.

It can be manually trained with lots of valid data, but that is a lot of work

You don’t have to manually train if you use the code interpreter and upload help files and ask it to adjust code to the API 2 commands in the help files uploaded

@Daniel_Mullins, that worked much better. Thanks!
It is unfortunate though, that I have to upload the docs every time (new chat).