CGI error on deployment

Hello Everyone
I am not a PERL programmer. I intent to run a cgi web app created with xojo at a hosting service a have.
This is a simple test with a button and a label… when the action event happens in the button, the label show “hello word”, that simple.
After talking with the hosting agents they provide me with clues of the issue.

The line numbers do not match, but, the code fragment is:

do {
		$sock->recv($type,1);
		$sock->recv($length,4);

$type = unpack('C',$type);
		$length = unpack(PACK_KEY,$length);

$response = '';
		do {
			my $chunk_size = $length - length($response);
			if ($chunk_size > MAX_CHUNK) {
				$chunk_size = MAX_CHUNK;
			}

where the second DO will be line 130 and my $chunck… will be line 131
Is there something I have to change during the building process to avoid this error?
If not… what should read the generated code base on the quote.

In advanced, thanks

Regards

That reminds me of what happened the first time I tried to run a Xojo CGI on my hosted web site.

There is basically nothing you can do at the compile level to make it run. I did quite a bit of Perl in the nineties, but I am afraid even if you were able to amend the code, a CGI is nothing but a launcher for a binary executable. Often enough, hosted sites are simply not able to run such executable.

Perhaps what you could try is to run a standalone. If you have access to the command line, it is pretty easy to run. Otherwise, you can use cron to schedule the launch.

That said, you may not want to waste too much time on that, but rather go to a more sensible solution. I have been using the services of 1701 Software for now 6 years. It simply works. Upload the cgi, and it runs flawlessly. Prices are not that expensive, and if you have any professional needs, peace of mind is priceless. Better yet, Phillip Zedalis who runs it is a member of this forum.