CDBL and var error

Hi,

I am very new to Xojo (last time i used Realbasic was back in 2008) so please forgive this simple question…

I get an "This item does not exist " error and a highlight at CDBL and Cstr on the following code:

dim dblHoejde As Double = 0
dim dblVaegt as Double = 0
dblHoejde = cdbl(TextHoejde.Text)
dblVaegt = cdbl (TextVaegt.Text)
dim dblBMI As Double = 0
dblBMI = dblVaegt/(dblHoejde*dblHoejde)

BMIText.Text = Cstr(dblBMI)

I must be doing something very simple wrong … could someone please send me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance!

Kristian Nielsen, Copenhagen, Denmark

Your code worked just fine for me in a desktop project when I pasted it into a button (and after adding the 3 text fields).

What type of project? What platform? Any other info you can provide?

Are you using the new framework? I don’t think CDbl exists there.

Hi,
thanks for your feedback. I guess, i should have given your the full story…

My code origins from Realbasic 2008 where i used it in a desktop app for my Mac. I worked fine then… Now, I wanted to test writing iOS apps and wanted to reuse my code there and got stuck.

So, the errors come when I try to run an iOS app written using Xojo 2015R1.

Hope this can give an explanation.

Kind regards,

Kristian

HI again,

the following worked fine in Xojo 2015R1 on a windows machine (built as a standalone app for Windows)

dim Vaegt As Double dim Hoejde As Double dim BMI As Double Vaegt = cdbl(TextField1.Text) Hoejde=cdbl(TextField2.Text) BMI = Vaegt/(Hoejde*Hoejde) Textfield3.text = Cstr(BMI)

Could it be the fact that i am trying to buld an iOS app ?

regards,

kristian

The “new framework” is what you’re working with in iOS.

[quote=173235:@Kristian Nielsen]HI again,

the following worked fine in Xojo 2015R1 on a windows machine (built as a standalone app for Windows)