Can't compile project stored on file server

I’ve been working for years in Xojo 2015 Release 1 and am now trying out 2017 Release 3. I’ve always stored my projects on an OS X file server and had no trouble. This way I can access the project from my desktop or laptop. But now I can’t compile on my server. It works fine on my local hard drive, but on my server, when I try to compile a .debug version, I get:

Compilation of “[My Application]” failed.
A file system error occurred (#103) for ““Resources””. If the application already exists, please make sure it is not currently running; otherwise, please make sure that the destination directory is writable.

The compiler does create a .debug file of the normal size and I noticed the package contents includes a Frameworks folder with a Resources alias that wasn’t there in earlier compiles. In fact, when I compile on my local drive, the .debug program is 8 times as big (2.4mb–>16.6mb) as when compiled with 2015 Release 1.

I can switch back to 2015 Release 1 and have no problem. I’ve searched extensively for others with this problem and am surprised that I haven’t found anything. Someone else must be using a file server. Any help would be appreciated.

Could this simply be related to the topic discussed many times earlier?
Where the “debug” file is not properly deleted by the OS? and therefore causing a subseqent compile to fail?

Thanks, but it’s not that simple. The destination is clean and the compiler begins to create a new .debug file (which I then have to delete).

I’ve even tried storing the project file on my wife’s shared computer and had the same problem. It should be easy for anyone to confirm the problem with an other computer on your LAN. It seems like a permissions problem.

The solution is simple : to work on your project, copy it locally, do whatever you need to do, and then copy it back on the remote drive.

This forum is full of such horror stories using cloud drives or remote storage.