Binary Copy

Hi All,

I am very new to XOJO. I am aware (through experience) that using XOJO’s copyto feature freezes the UI and the Macintosh it runs on. Someone has suggested using a binary copy to copy folder a to folder b.

Im not going to lie the concept is alien to me. Is anyone able to point me towards a real basic (Dummies) guide on how to build / implement or willing to help me out in this thread please?

Thanks

Ive found this……

[code] // This method employs binarystreams to copy FromFile to ToFile

dim FromStream, ToStream as BinaryStream

// Open the streams up
FromStream = FromFile.OpenAsBinaryFile(false)
ToStream = ToFile.CreateBinaryFile("")

// Copy the data from one stream to another
while not FromStream.EOF
ToStream.Write(FromStream.Read(1024))
wend

// Close the streams
FromStream.Close()
ToStream.Close()[/code]

A possibly better approach is to use the ditto command (or similar commands) in a shell. Let the shell copy files quickly, reliably, and asynchronously — it’s much better at it than Xojo.

Hey Walter,

I totally agree, but ice been using that method for so long, i was hoping to be able to build it in XOJO that rely on terminal.

I’ve made the following push button:

[code] Dim main As FolderItem
Dim otherdir As FolderItem
Dim f As folderitem

f = SpecialFolder.Desktop.Child( “a” )
otherdir = SpecialFolder.Desktop.Child( “b” )

f.CopyTo(otherdir)
[/code]

But it crashes on :

while not FromStream.EOF

It’s not just a Xojo problem. If you copy or delete large files on the main thread in Cocoa you run into the same freezing problem. It was something I experienced with the first two iterations of MacDust.

Is FolderItem.CopyFileTo usable on a thread?