Asynchronous HTTPSocket with timeout

Hi All,

I’m new to Xojo and this is my new post. If I make any mistakes I apologies in advance hope you bare with me.

I’m having an issue in an application I’m working on. First I must say that this is written in Realbasic (before it was renamed to xojo) Real Studio 2011 Release 2

My application is an image uploader and it uses HTTPSockets to submit the images to the server.

//I build a form here
//some code
data = data + "--" + boundary + nl

//some code
HTTPSocketUploadImage.SetPostContent data, "multipart/form-data, boundary=" + boundary

//and post it here
HTTPSocketUploadImage.Post(url)

the problem with this is if the server does not rerun a reply it waits indefinitely for a reply and the program does nothing after that. The reason I need the asynchronous posts is that I’m using three of these in parallel to speed things up. On the other hand if I don’t use asynchronous the UI becomes unresponsive too.

Is there a work around this?

please refer to this image for a better explanation of my issue

just in case above image tag does not work
You can find it here

Thanks for your time. Any help is much appreciated.

If you want the UI to stay responsive you can use HTTPSocket.Yield = True .
Also, use threads to run many processes in parallel, instead of having 3 different HTTPSocket objects.

A question, do you handle the events of the HTTPSocket?

Maybe the HTTPSocket object goes out of scope, if it is a local variable.

It sounds like the server may be assuming an http 1.1 persistent connection. Try setting a header:

connection: close

You might also want to implement the ReceivedBytes event and see if there is data coming in, but slowly.

Another idea though… You might want to just try your app in Xojo 2014r2.1, just to see if this is a bug that has been fixed in a later version.

Thanks for all replies. Greatly appreciate it.