Arrays in Debugger "open in New Window" no Data

Hi,

I’m new to xojo 2021 R3.1, I’m using the Demoversion for Testing. My last licensed Copy was 2014.xxxx :innocent:

At a breakpoint the debugger stops, now i try to Expand an Array with “open in New Window”, but there ar no Entrys.

Is this only a “DEMO” Problem or is it a bug?

Edit: Using Windows 10 PRO 64

Xojo1
Xojo2

I think this is an unimplemented feature. That option has been there for a while, few know about it, and it’s never worked as expected.

See the Result from my old 2014 R3.1

Xojo1
Xojo2

I stand corrected.

Its a bug I reported 18 month ago.

Case: 61856.

1 Like

Oh, OK, that’s a long time!
In complexe debug situations, this is a “must have” feature for me.Why does it take so long to fix it?

@Geoff_Perlman
unbelievable …

2 Likes

As I’ve been saying for years now, stop fiddling with the language and fix the IDE. If the tools are frustrating to use, little else matters.

5 Likes

It’s frustrating not to have it especially since the debugger variable panel is awful to use.

My guess is that it’s not a well known feature as it has been broken for 6/7 years and I had to attach a screen recording to the case as they didn’t know what I was talking about.

2 Likes

Xojo Arrays are usually shown for me, but it sometimes takes a while for the debugger to update the display and really show their content.

I found myself duplicating all kinds of macOS structure computed properties anyway with a translation to Xojo classes because the debugger some 2 or so years ago lost the ability to show structures. ;(

I take a look on this Case,
Rank:none, Points 0 what does that mean ? Will never be fixed?