Amateur question

I use Xojo as a hobby and I’ve never had any software engieering classes. Until now, when creating an app, I’ve come up with the UI design myself. I’m not a designer either so it looks a bit amateurish, to put it nicely.

Just wanted to ask how you professionals go about the app UI. I assume you have some design company or single designer come up with some alternative designs and you select one? And then? Do you recreate the design in Xojo with the available controls, or do you use images provided, or both? Or do you do that in general?

Thank you!

Apple Human Interface Guideline, the original 1995 one:
http://interface.free.fr/Archives/Apple_HIGuidelines.pdf

and the actual one :
https://developer.apple.com/design/human-interface-guidelines/macos/overview/themes/

1 Like

Tbh, my experience is that users don’t really care. As long as an app does what they want, they’ll put up with even crappy UI. So follow the UI guidelines posted above and don’t stress about it.

2 Likes

Xojo will provide guidelines to dialog edges as you visually design.
after that, form follows function for me.
Try to use your designed pages for a few hours.
What make you stumble?
What slows you down?

Then ask a friend: look at this, and without touching anything, how would you do x, y and z?

1 Like

Similar to what @Jean-Yves_Pochez mentioned, here are the guidelines for a final program for multiple platforms: Human interface guidelines - Wikipedia

I typically create a skunkworks project that has: 1) very little functionality (usually the buttons are not programmed yet), 2) creates a really general high-level structure, 3) show the client in 1-week maximum.