Adding "Caption" property to Label subclass does bad things

I have a label subclass, cLabel, that I’ve been using for a few years. It has a .Caption computed string property, which is also set to be visible and settable in the IDE Behavior.

It appears that starting in 2013 R3, this is now problematic. My guess here is that since the Label class already has a .Caption property, the IDE is getting confused upon loading/saving the controls. If you look in the LR, it says that the “Text” property is the “Same as the Caption property”. So it’s even more confusing…

Looks like I’ve accidentally set up a situation in which we have:
Label.Text
Label.Caption
cLabel.Caption (my subclass’s computed property)
Instance of cLabel.caption which has data set in the IDE’s property Inspector.

It’s amazing this worked as long as it did.

I’m guessing the solution is to rename the .caption property of my subclass to something else - I’m worried that when I do this, I’ll end up losing all the several hundred string constants that I’ve entered in the IDE for my various label subclasses. and am not sure what to do about that.

Hmm…

Property shadowing has always been something we recommend against and that’s what you’ve got set up
I’m amazed it ever worked

Agree - in fact, I just took a look at my “Label” subclass (which used to be a StaticText subclass) and it still has leftovers from the StaticText:

<ViewProperty>
   <ObjName>Underline</ObjName>
   <Visible>1</Visible>
   <PropertyGroup>Font</PropertyGroup>
   <ItemType>Boolean</ItemType>
   <InheritsFrom>StaticText</InheritsFrom>
  </ViewProperty>
 <ViewProperty>
   <ObjName>InitialParent</ObjName>
   <InheritsFrom>StaticText</InheritsFrom>
  </ViewProperty>
  <ViewProperty>
   <ObjName>Caption</ObjName>
   <PropertyGroup>Behavior</PropertyGroup>
   <ItemType>string</ItemType>
   <EditorType>MultiLineEditor</EditorType>
  </ViewProperty>
etc...