A point of view from an old user

Not to start a cat fight, just a little feedback in case it helps the dev team.

I came back to Xojo due to the need for cross platform compiling for a small project. I worked on a simple app for a diagnostic tool for an iot project that needed a way to diagnose and talk to it via serial port and needed to be able to deploy in windows and Mac.

I moved away from Xojo due to the nature of the projects, back then you couldn’t deploy to IOS, so I started coding in c++, objective c, swift and moved out about 5 to 7 years ago (maybe more!). I was a hard core Xojo dev then when it was called real basic or studio.

I think the IdE concept is great and well thought out. But it is slow, and as you progress it gets slower. It runs like a turtle by the time you are finishing a project. Coming from other code editors the text editor also feels kind of crippled in things like quick search capabilities, in line help, refactoring tools, etc.

I also have to mention that the language is not too elegant IMHO. I know that many prefer if/end if to if () {} syntax or while wends to while {}, (among others) … this is always a personal taste of course. But just to say that the language it’s starting to show age when looking at many modern ones. Again I understand this is a personal taste thing and many might love it and I respect that.

I have always admired the OOP implementation of Xojo and the adherence to patterns like interfaces, classes, instances, delegation, etc. It is truly an OOP language since it’s origins. Many things I learned here helped me a lot in other languages!

The compiled product Works great and adds a lot of value and the benefits it offers are simply amazing! … I will still use Xojo for simple cross platform development, but I hope that this message helps Xojo team (or not) as feedback to consider in the future.

This is not a complaint! It’s only a humble point of view!

Hi Francisco,