2021R1 IDE still poking along

Just downloaded and freshly installed 21R1, opened one project (2 windows, 4 tabs each) and the code editor pokes along at 2 characters per second as I type with 100% CPU showing. Nothing that hasn’t been discussed before. Maybe 21R2…

Please take a sample and post it here. If you are on macOS, open Activity monitor, select the app, and choose “Sample Process”

Sample of Xojo_2021-03-31.txt

Thanks! I’m no expert on the inner working of the IDE, but it looks to me like it may be caught in some sort of redraw loop - object A refreshes, which causes object B to refresh, which causes A to refresh?

Do you have overlapping controls in your window? I wonder if you can delete some of the items and see if the CPU usage clears up…

Can you also take a screenshot of the desktop in the state that this happens (and blur out any sensitive info) maybe something as simple as the layout of your ide might be causing something that everyone else isn’t experiencing.

Very astute folks. The front window where the editor pokes along just has a method with its code showing, no GUI layouts of course. However the 2nd window behind it (barely visible, so no redraws should be required) does have a window layout that looks like this:

Not terribly complicated but each tab has more GUI elements so I bet they’re also refreshed even tho they’re not even visible. When I change the view of the rear window to some method editor instead, and return to the original front window, the delay is gone. So your suspicion is correct, it’s a redraw issue of a GUI layout that isn’t even frontmost, isn’t even visible because it’s totally obscured by the frontmost window showing a code editor, and is seemingly triggered after every character that is typed.