Configuration/preferences file

How do you create a configuration/preferences file?

The short answer is, however you’d like. There is no hard and fast rule on this. I use a very simple text format of key=value (I hex-encode value where needed), others use XML or Plist, still others use a SQLiteDatabase.

It’s really up to you.

Thanks, Kem. I’m an absolute beginner at this, learning how to program. Sorry for the very naive, general question. I need to create a configuration/preferences file so that I can save the initial settings for my program. Given my application, how would I use, say, Plist? Is there a good tutorial for it somewhere? Is it Xojo-specific?

Sam

I also use a simple binary file for my Prefs. Some like NSUserDefaults or CFPreferences for Mac builds.
Whatever you choose, you should store it in SpecialFolder.ApplicationData. Using SpecialFolder.Preferences, despite its name, can be problematic with later Operating systems

Chiming in on your 2nd question, if you’re just starting, I would recommend just using a simple Binary File. Your Prefs does not HAVE to be any kind of special file. See the Xojo docs on writing to a binaryStream and just write your values to a simple file.

One solution that is pretty simple is to use JSONItem to store values in a Dictionary-like manner. Then you can just save and load this JSON data to a file pretty easily.

For an example of this, check out the Developing a Text Editor webinars. I believe part 2 covers saving preferences.

http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/Videos#Webinars

I use the same preferences class for both user and application settings. It uses simple key-value pairs and it supports the storage and retrieval of the standard data types plus Color and FolderItem. It uses a simple xml file in the background to store key, value and data type.