Error parsing JSON

Hello, I’m new to Xojo, though I’ve been programming in VBA, VB6, VB.Net and C# for 20+ years. I am used to using SOAP webservices but have never used JSON.

For a new project I am working on, I have set up a webservice which uses NewtonSoft to create JSON. The output looks like this in Firefox:

{“array”:[{“ID”:“4”,“CodePurpose”:“OrgType”,“Description”:“Charity”},{“ID”:“1”,“CodePurpose”:“OrgType”,“Description”:“Client”},{“ID”:“2”,“CodePurpose”:“OrgType”,“Description”:“Funder”},{“ID”:“5”,“CodePurpose”:“OrgType”,“Description”:“Housing Association”},{“ID”:“6”,“CodePurpose”:“OrgType”,“Description”:“Landlord”},{“ID”:“3”,“CodePurpose”:“OrgType”,“Description”:“Supplier”},{“ID”:“9”,“CodePurpose”:“PersonType”,“Description”:“Client”},{“ID”:“12”,“CodePurpose”:“PersonType”,“Description”:“Examiner”},{“ID”:“8”,“CodePurpose”:“PersonType”,“Description”:“Manager”},{“ID”:“7”,“CodePurpose”:“PersonType”,“Description”:“Proprietor”},{“ID”:“10”,“CodePurpose”:“PersonType”,“Description”:“Teacher”},{“ID”:“11”,“CodePurpose”:“PersonType”,“Description”:“Trainer”}]}

As I understand it, this is a tagged array with a single dictionary inside it.

I have a Xojo desktop app with a Xojo.Net.HTTPSocket, and a PageReceived event on my main form.
My code on that form is (at the moment):

var jsonData As Text = Xojo.Core.TextEncoding.UTF8.ConvertDataToText(Content)
var jsonArray() As Variant
jsonArray = Xojo.Data.ParseJSON(jsonData)

I am getting a JSON error “Top level JSON objects can only be maps or arrays.”

I have tried the other three methods suggested on the Xojo ParseJSON help page but with no better results.

Can anyone help with this issue? I am happy to share the URL of the webservice if necessary - the data is only test data at the moment.

Thanks
John

The top level of this JSON is an object (Dictionary), not an array. The only key is “array” which contains an array.

This will help visualize it better:

{
  "array": [
    {
      "ID": "4",