trouble with RowSets

Hello everyone,
I’m relatively new to object-oriented programming and I am having a very nice experience so far. However, I’m having a bit of trouble with RowSets.

I’m trying to achieve the following:

• display a RowSet in a Listbox
  • display the same RowSet in a Messagebox

What is currently happening:

• When I run my program, the Listbox is populated as expected, but the messagebox displays an empty string.
  • When I put the MessageBox-code before the Listbox-code, the MessageBox displays the expected string, but the Listbox stays empty

my code:

//rs is a RowSet resulting from a SQL query
Var Message As String

ListBox.RemoveAllRows
For Each row As DataBaseRow In rs
  Listbox.AddRow(Row.ColumnAt(0).StringValue)      //Display RowSet in Listbox
Next

Message = Message + (Row.ColumnAt(0).StringValue)     //Display RowSet in Messagebox
Next
MessageBox(Message)

I would expect both to display the RowSet and I have absolutely no idea why this is not the case. I would be very grateful if you could point me in the right direction.

Have a very nice day and stay safe!

use a break point and step through.
you can see all variables in the debug window.

how many rows have this rs? and what is in column 0?
some empty rows maybe?
check record count or try MoveToFirstRow if there is a bug with the new for each.

try this if you see something

Message = "Message:" For Each row As DataBaseRow In rs Message = Message + "AAA" + row.ColumnAt(0).StringValue Next

[quote=490420:@Oliver Koehler]ListBox.RemoveAllRows
Listbox.AddRow(Row.ColumnAt(0).StringValue) //Display RowSet in Listbox
Message = Message + (Row.ColumnAt(0).StringValue) //Display RowSet in Messagebox
Next

MessageBox(Message)[/quote]

Because you would otherwise need to “set back” the RowSet after the first For…Next Loop.
BTW: Why go throught the RowSet in 2 Loops, when you can do it in 1 ? :wink: