many commands have been deprecated

Hi, I’m a programmer who has been using RealBasic / Xojo for many years
Over the years I have seen that many commands have been deprecated but with an improvement sense. The command has been replaced with a different but more functional one.
In the latest version, an abominable thing was done, many senseless commands were changed:
VAR instead of Dim
Rowcount instead of listcount
deleteallrows instead of Removeallrows
and many others including the getfolderitem
commands only changed in the name that in fact do not change anything in functionality, but only give headaches to programmers who have to carry the sources from version to version.
I hope you want to remedy this problem by keeping the compatibility in the 2 versions of the controls and that none of this will happen in future versions.

there was a long thread about after api 2 appear …

I’ve made the changes (not that it was strictly necessary as deprecated stuff can still be used) when they were introduced and it’s actually not such a big deal. I’ve come to terms with the new terminology which is often – although not always – clearer. And I I was quite enthusiastic about the change from Dim to Var – I’ve always hated Dim and Var was the keyword my first programming language had been using for variable declarations: Pascal (that was in 1978 I think).

If that was true, Xojo would make a code “translator”. But as things potentially will break, like 1 based code needing refactoring for 0 based, they don’t.

It is our opinion that translators have to work nearly 100% perfectly or they shouldn’t work be done at all. Or to put it another way, users have the expectation they will work nearly 100% perfectly.

[quote=488694:@DEVSTUDIO S.R.L.]Hi, I’m a programmer who has been using RealBasic / Xojo for many years
Over the years I have seen that many commands have been deprecated but with an improvement sense. The command has been replaced with a different but more functional one.